DEPARTMENT OF RACING/BOXING
ARIZONA STATE BOXING COMMISSION

SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT 0005
RELATING TO SANCTION FEES FOR
UNARMED COMBAT/MIXED MARTIAL ARTS PROGRAMS

During the past Legislative Session, House Bill 2834 was approved by the Governor. This legislation
makes chariges to the current statutes to add "Unarmed Combat” as a competition to be regulated by
the Arizona State Boxing Commission. The amendment to A.R.8. § 5-225(C), provides that the
Commission may establish a fee for unarmed combat events in an amount determined by the
Commission. The intent of this Substantive Policy Statement is to provide public notification of the
initial sanction fees established by the Boxing Commission, which may be modified at such time as
the exact fees can be determined and the formal rulemaking process is completed.

This substantive policy statement is advisory only. A substantive policy statement does not include
internal procedural docurnents that only affect the internal procedures of the agency and does not
impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or
rules made in accordance with the Arizona Administrative Procedures act. If you believe that this
substantive policy statement does impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties you
may petition the agency under Arizona Revised Statutes section 41-1033 for a review of the statement.

SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT

In conjunction with the provisions of the statute regarding unarmed combat events, the Arizona State
Boxing Commission has established the following sanction fees. Please note that these foes are the
per event minimum assessment regardless of the number of matches within the event, and the fees are
subject to increase by the Commission based upon the nature of the event.

A, All unarmed combat events shall be assessed a minimum sanction fee of one thousand dollars
($1,000).
B. An event allowing closed fists on the ground and elbows and knees to the head while

standing only shall be assessed a minimum sanction fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000).

C. An event allowing closed fists and elbows on the ground and knees to the head while
standing shall be assessed a minimum sanction fee of three thousand dollars ($3,000).

D. A sanction fee shall not exceed the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) unless, at the
discretion of the Boxing Commission, the size and nature of the event requires additional
funds.

APPLICABLE LAW

ARS, §5-225(C)
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